Today’s Haiku (November 22, 2010)

芭蕉以降みのむしの声は誰も聞かず   島谷征良

bashô ikô minomushi no koe wa dare mo kikazu

after Basho

no one has heard

a bagworm’s voice

Seiroh Shimatani

from “Gendai Haiku Hyakunin Nijukku” (“Modern Haiku: 20 Haiku per100 Poets”), edited by Kazuo Ibaraki, Kiyoko Uda, Nenten Tsubouchi, Kazuko Nishimura, You-shorin, Nagano, 2004

Fay’s note:  “minomushi” (bagworm) is an autumn kigo (when I picked up this haiku , I thought ‘minomushi’ is a winter kigo).   Ancient Japanese believed that a bagworm was abandoned by ‘oni’ (‘demon’ or ‘ogre’) and cried ‘father, father…’    Onomatopoeia of the sound ‘chi-chi’ is the same pronunciation of the word ‘father’ in Japanese.   In waka and haiku, ‘oni no ko’ (demon’s child)  is another way to say ‘minomushi’.

6 responses to “Today’s Haiku (November 22, 2010)

  1. Merrill Ann Gonzales

    Dear Fay, So often, when I submit a haiku that I feel has the essence of haiku in it, although it forms a sentence, as the above haiku you present, I’m admonished that there has got to be a cut – a juxtaposition – and no one feels comfortable publishing them. While I could change them – at this point I’m just collecting them as it. Like this one, there is a shift and a resolution. Perhaps you could shed a bit of light on this subject for me?
    Many thanks for expanding my world a haiku.

    • Merrill-Ann: Basho (or whoever) said all 48 letters in Japanese alphabet can be ‘kire-ji’ (cut word). In this haik, (my personal opinion) the poet juxtapose ‘Basho’ and ‘bagworm.’ He might want to indicate we are bagworms abandoned by a powerful father.
      In English, you have to have a strongER juxtaposition; otherwise, haiku sounds like a sentence (unfortunately?). I do not believe every haiku should be ‘strongly’ juxtaposed, and as you can see, some haiku I introduced in this blog do not have ‘clear’ juxtaposition. Sometimes I translate in a way English reader can see two images easily.
      Does this help?????? Or we can continue ‘conversation’ privately.

  2. Merrill Ann Gonzales

    P.S. Please forgive my typo: It should read, “I’m just collecting them as is.”

  3. Here is the haiku by Basho

    minomushi no ne o kiki ni koyo kusa no io

    Come listen
    to the sound of the bagworm! –
    a grass hut

    Matsuo Basho
    tr. Shirane

  4. Thank you, Gabi!!!

  5. Merrill Ann Gonzales

    Dear Fay, You are a jewel! I’m so glad you have this blog since I learn so much from it… Just studying the haiku you present enlarge my understanding and your clear answers to my questions speaks volumes… I’m also glad for Gabi too. While I am working on my own direction, I have much to learn from both of you and I count myself most fortunate. Happy thanksgiving! Merrill

Leave a comment