Fay’s Haiku (@ Haiku North America, Ottawa, Canada, 2009)

Haiku North America 2009 was held in Ottawa from August 5 to August 9, in Ottawa.   This year’s HNA was dedicated to William J. Higginson who passed away in October 2008.   After a keynote speech by John Brandi, a long-time friend of Bill and his wife, Penny Harter, this haiku popped up !? in my mind (actually, in the elevator!).   I recited it at a reading during a beautiful boat ride in the Ottawa River.

a chrysanthemum whispers

“Bill Higginson Day should be

a kigo”

Fay Aoyagi

HNA is held every two years.  To get more information, please go to their website (http://www.haikunorthamerica.org).

9 responses to “Fay’s Haiku (@ Haiku North America, Ottawa, Canada, 2009)

  1. I agree, it’s a wonderful tribute, and I look forward to it being official. Do you know if there will be an official Bill Higginson Day, even if it’s only amongst us haiku poets. 😉

    Alan

  2. Alan: In Japan a day when one passed away became a kigo, but we celebrate birthdays of the great people… I will consult with Penny and promote it!?

  3. That would be lovely to do Fay. I just feel Bill is one of those exceptions. Give Penny a hi from me, and a hi five if that’s okay, and even a hug if that’s okay. 😉

    Alan

  4. Hi Fay! Great to see you again!

    And Alan, I think it’s a lovely idea, and send a hi-five, hug, back to you. Yet, there are others we have lost who also gave much to the haiku community, so we should think about honoring them as well.

    Check out this link on a photo blog (Deborah Kolodji’s?) to see me welcoming folks to the conference banquet:

    Penny

    Along with the inevitable bittersweet moments, the conference brought me much joy.

    Penny

  5. Hi Penny! 😉

    “And Alan, I think it’s a lovely idea, and send a “Check out this link on a photo blog (Deborah Kolodji’s?) to see me welcoming folks to the conference banquet”

    It’s a fantastic photo, and makes me so happy to see you beaming! I think it is Deborah, I left a comment as ‘haikutec’ and also asked to be a contact.

    “Along with the inevitable bittersweet moments, the conference brought me much joy.”

    I’m so glad you went, wish I could have gone. It must have been so very hard, but so therapeutic. You go girl, I bet Bill would have been chuffed! (Ye Olde English for being rather pleased with his lady ).

    I’m going to give you another big hug back, and hope a special day can happen that has Bill again helping us remember all the good haiku and people who write it.

    all my love,

    Alan

  6. Pingback: Updates Since « Haiku North America 2009

Leave a comment