Tanka Translation 100th tanka uploaded!

null

In January 2009, I started translating tanka from “Gendai Tanka no Kansho 101” (Apreciation of Modern Tanka 101), an anthology written and edited by Ken Kodaka.  It took longer than I thought, but I am happy to announce that the mission was completed at last!

Since I do not write tanka and some poets use classic Japanese, I found tanka translation more difficult than haiku translation.   From now on (at least for a while), this blog will concentrate on haiku. 

I appreciate your support and encouragement in the past 3 years! 

Fay Aoyagi

November 30, 2011, San Francisco

 

 

5 responses to “Tanka Translation 100th tanka uploaded!

  1. Hello, Fay. Blue Willow Haiku World is a one of a kind site. I wouldn’t miss the chance to visit it every day. How to thank you . . .

  2. Congratulations on your translation completion. I enjoy all your translations, and I really want to thank you for the effort you put into translating those tanka.

  3. Your style is so unique compared to other folks I have read
    stuff from. Many thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I’ll just bookmark this blog.

  4. Fantastic goods from you, man. I have understand
    your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely excellent. I really like what you have acquired here, really like what you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it sensible. I cant wait to read much more from you. This is actually a terrific web site.

  5. Dear Fay, your tanka translations are beautiful, thank you! Would it be possible to talk with you about a tanka translation I am working on, a book first published by my Issei grandparents? Many thanks.

Leave a comment